The Best Green Smoothie! (dairy-free, vegan)

Goood Morning Angels 🙂

Want to have a FAB day?

Enter, this feel-good, healthy, satisfying, loaded-with-nutrients green smoothie! Drinking this creamy bev in the morning is one of my favorite ways to kick off the day. It sets you on the right foot and boosts you up to take on the day. We got this!!

I know I know, from the pictures…it’s not exactly green. LOL That’s because the color of the blueberries overtakes the green spinach color.

I have tried both spinach and kale in smoothies, and my personal fav to use is spinach. PRO TIP: Steam the spinach in the microwave before using it. The cooked spinach will blend into the smoothie easier. And, you know how much spinach shrinks/ cooks down when it’s, well, cooked?? By steaming it, I easily put a whole 6oz bag of baby spinach into 1 batch of smoothie. GREEN BOOST ALL THE WAYYYY

Plus there’s no added sugar. It’s dairy-free, gluten-free, soy-free. And all natural ingredients.

Remember that cashew milk I made yesterday?? I used that in this smoothie and it made it EXTRA CREAMY!! Feel free to do the same, or use you favorite non-dairy milk.

Speaking of using your favorites, this recipe can be adapted to what YOU like. Because this is about making a smoothie that makes you FEEL FABULOUS!! Don’t like strawberries? Sub in raspberries or more blueberries, or even mango! Have peaches, cherries, pineapple, or pretty much any other fruit in the house? Toss that in! Don’t have almond butter? Use peanut butter or any nut butter! Have a favorite protein powder? Feel free to add that in too!

The two ingredients I would recommend not omitting are the nut butter (any kind) and the banana. Those two ingredients help to mask the spinach. They make your smoothie nutty, creamy, and almost like a milkshake 😀

OK I get it, you’re super busy, so I’ll get right to it here 🙂 Green smoothie, here we go!

The Best Green Smoothie
This recipe makes 2-3 smoothie servings.

Ingredients:
1 5-6oz bag spinach, steamed
1 cup cashew milk, almond milk, or your favorite non-dairy milk
about 2 Tablespoons almond butter, peanut butter, or your favorite nut butter — honestly, I don’t even measure this, just dollop some into the blender 🙂
1 banana
3/4 cup blueberries (I use frozen)
3/4 cup strawberries (I use frozen)
dash of cinnamon
2 Tablespoons flax seeds
Ice, optional

Directions:
1) Steam the spinach.
3) Put the spinach into the blender, along with the non-dairy milk and almond butter. Blend blend blend until it’s smooth (and a uniform green color!)
2) Add in the remaining ingredients. Blend-er-up until you have a smooth creamy smoothie texture!
3) Want it thicker? Add in about 1/2 cup of crushed ice or ice cubes. I like my smoothies super cold and super thick, so I like to add the ice 😀
4) Voila!!! Smoothie time!

This’ll make 2 very generous-sized smoothies. I typically drink one the day I make it for breakfast and have the other one the next day. Or Cole and I will each have one. Sharing is caring 🙂

What’s your favorite way to make a smoothie?!! I’d love to hear your favs!!!

Have a wonderful day baes!! xoxo

Leave a comment